Thanksgiving Firsts

So I tasted the Thanksgiving and took it’s gravity. While I don’t regret my decision to use all those fresh hops (what was I going to do with the leftovers?), the wort was pretty bitter. The gravity was also rather modest and the pumpkin flavor was too subtle. I’ve decided to implement yet another first-time technique and introduce fermentables directly to the active fermentation. I’m going to boil honey and brown sugar with more pumpkin puree and pour it in once fermentation has reached the third or fourth day. My hope is the added gravity will help balance out the bitterness. I don’t normally like to open the fermentor when it’s doing its thing, but it’s time to branch out.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

